• Theater

Orchestre de la Suisse romande “Mahler 9”

Série Lausanne


Felix Mendelssohn - Concerto for violin and orchestra in E minor op. 64
Gustav Mahler - Symphony No. 9 in D major

Both classical and romantic in its expression, Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto in E minor never ceases to inspire with its radiant harmonies and the infinite magic of its themes. Gustav Mahler’s final symphony takes leave of a bygone musical world, at the same time bidding farewell to the life of a seriously ill man. He would never hear his Symphony No. 9 in D minor, which left his successors, Schoenberg and Berg completely stunned by the originality of its language.
Of course, grandeur flirts with the trivial for one last time, and the present allows a glimpse of eternity in a finale seeking solace as it enters a dimension and a world which is no longer ours. This is no longer an individual expressing himself, but a phenomenon that surpasses him with a foresight belonging only to great creators.

Back to the calendar